COVID-19. Security measures to access L’Auditori de Barcelona. MORE INFO

Aleix Palau | 10 April 2019

New family show, The OBC dances Ravel, an outstanding success with choreography and stage direction by Antonio Ruz

Six dancers directed by choreographer Antonio Ruz guide us on this journey through music and movement. Greek conductor Zoi Tsokanou leads the OBC on 6 April at 12 noon in Sala 1 Pau Casals at L’Auditori.

The Barcelona Symphony Orchestra premieres the OBC’s new family show, The OBC Dances Ravel, with musical direction by conductor Zoi Tsokanou and stage direction and choreography by Antonio Ruz.

The show is based on the music and the story of Ma mère l'Oye (Mother Goose), one of the most spectacular and representative symphonic works from Maurice Ravel’s catalogue. Through the music, a group of dancers narrate some of the most popular children’s stories of all times, such as Beauty and the Beast, Little Thumb and Sleeping Beauty.

The project is commissioned by L'Auditori and the Nouveau Siècle auditorium in Lille. The Premio Nacional de Danza, Antonio Ruz, has created a show in which it seeks to establish forms of dialogue between dance, stage language and live music. This will be made possible through the choreography that the children work on at school and at home and which they will dance all together at the end of the concert.

The first to enjoy The OBC Dances Ravel were school pupils, who saw the show on 4 and 5 April as part of L'Auditori’s School Concerts. On 6 April at 12 noon, the show opened to all audiences for the Family Concerts season.

You can download the project’s educational dossier here.

Production and performers
Zoi Tsokanou, musical direction
Antonio Ruz, stage director and choreographer
Barcelona Symphony Orchestra
Èlia López, assistant director and choreographer
Anne-Cécile Espinach, costume design

Dancers / Choreographic collaboration: Iris Borràs / Borja Fernández / Víctor Fernández / Laura García Aguilera / Cristina Reolid / Carlos Roncero / Gemma Cuartero, cover / Alexa Moya, cover/ Pere Seda, cover

Elisabeth Romagosa, trainee student

With the collaboration of piano students from the IEA Oriol Martorell: Judit Álvarez / Marcel Fargas / Arnau Luengo / Júlia Morales