Video viewing is limited to 5 minutes. Log in or register for free to enjoy the full experience.


JOHANNES BRAHMSPiano Concerto No. 1 in D minor, Op. 15 (42’)‎

A long, tortuous process led to the creation of Piano Concerto No. 1 by Johannes Brahms. A work originally conceived as a sonata and later as a possible symphony, it constitutes a landmark in piano concertos. The tragic aura perceptible from the opening bars has often been associated with the decline and death of his friend Robert Schumann in 1856. The young Brahms created a work with its roots in the past and its eyes on the future, and it aroused equal amounts of astonishment and irritation in its day. It is a paradigmatic Romantic concerto, bearing Brahms' unmistakeable personal hallmark.


Barcelona Symphony Orchestra
Andreas Haefliger, piano
Ludovic Morlot, conductor

Calendar sessions
Sessions del dia

Form submitted successfully!

The form has been submitted successfully. We will contact you by email or phone.