COVID-19. Security measures to access L’Auditori de Barcelona. MORE INFO

Lachrimæ, lamentations and madness


    Diego Ortiz: Recercada sobre Canto llano
    Anonymous/improvisations: Folías antiguas
    Anonymous/improvisations: Folías: Rodrigo Martínez
    Anonymous & Francesc Guerau: El testament d’Amèlia-Folías
    John Dowland: Lachrimae antiquae
    Anthony Holborne: As it fell on a holie Eve
    Tobias Hume: Musicall Humors: Death-Life
    Francisco Correa de Arauxo: Glosas sobre “Todo el mundo en general”
    Antonio de Cabezón: Pavana con su glosa
    Anonymous: Improvisations on La Romanesca
    Johann Jakob Froberger: Lamento sopra la dolorosa perdita della Real Maestà di Ferdinando IV Rè de Romani
    Antoni Martin i Coll: Diferencias sobre las Folias
    Anonymous/improvisations: Canarios
    Antonio Valente: Gallarda napolitana
    Anònim jarocho (Mèxic): Jarabe loco


    Hespèrion XXI
    Jordi Savall, soprano viola da gamba and bass viola da gamba
    Xavier Díaz-Latorre, vihuela, guitar and theorbo
    Andrew Lawrence-King, baroque harp
    Pedro Estevan, percussion
    • Friday 22 April 19:00
  • €28
  • Basílica de Santa Maria del Pi
  • Llums d'Antiga

Tears, laments and the sounds of insanity are brought to us by Jordi Savall and some of his most loyal, celebrated musicians–all leading references in their chosen instruments–, with Xavier Díaz-Latorre on the guitar and theorbo, Andrew Lawrence King on the baroque harp and Pedro Esteban as percussionist. The audience will revel in this display of creativity and inventiveness in music conceived as a living, open phenomenon, inextricably linked to popular music. The concert will also introduce the audience to different traditions and approaches to the art of variation and improvisation. It focuses on the period from the 16th to the 18th centuries, ranging from the famous John Dowland and his English backdrops through Elizabethan Anthony Holborne or Scottish soldier-musician Tobias Hume to our own regions, the Kingdoms of Naples and Spain, and the baroque France and Germany of the great viol player, Marin Marais, and Johan Jakob Froberger, whose work stands out for its fascinating stylistic opulence.

Supported by:

Supported by:

Sessions and tickets


22 April 2022

Buy tickets

Included in:

Included in subscriptions

You may also like

Venez, chère ombre
Llums d'Antiga

Venez, chère ombre

26 April 2022
Capella de Santa Àgata
Gesualdo: Madrigals
Llums d'Antiga

Gesualdo: Madrigals

28 April 2022
Capella de Santa Àgata
Crude love
Llums d'Antiga

Crude love

1 May 2022
Monestir Sant Pau del Camp
Go to beginning