COVID-19. Security measures to access L’Auditori de Barcelona. MORE INFO

Hagen Quartett

©Harald Hoffmann


    Dmitri Shostakovich: String Quartet No. 4 in D major, Op. 83 (1949) 26' ‎
    Anton Webern: Five movements for String Quartet, Op. 5 (1909) 12'‎
    Franz Schubert: String Quartet No. 13 in A minor "Rosamunde", D. 804 (1824) 37'‎


    Lukas Hagen, violin
    Rainer Schmidt, violin
    Veronika Hagen, viola ‎
    Clemens Hagen, cello
    • Wednesday 4 November 20:00
  • €28
  • Hall 2 Oriol Martorell
  • Música de Cambra

The legendary Hagen Quartett celebrates 40 years of musical history with three pinnacles in the string quartet repertoire, each separated by more than 100 years.

Sessions and tickets


4 November 2020

Buy tickets

Included in:

Included in subscriptions


Dmitri Shostakovich often took refuge in chamber music, considered abstract and apolitical compared to symphonic and choral music, which was under the constant scrutiny of the Stalinist regime. In String Quartet No. 4 we perceive the always ambiguous and elusive nature of Shostakovich’s music, in which the boundary between the genuine and the ironic is somewhat blurred. With the Fünf Sätze (Five Movements), Anton Webern tightens the seams of tonality and prioritises the clarity of textures and timbres, a preliminary to the great atonal revolution of the Second Viennese School. And it was in Vienna, in 1824, that Franz Schubert momentarily put aside the lied to focus his efforts on composing chamber works such as the String Quartet in A minor "Rosamunde", full of references to other works by him and by the venerated Beethoven.

You may also like

Daniel Barenboim, piano
Música de Cambra

Daniel Barenboim, piano

1 December 2020
Hall 1 Pau Casals
Mireia Farrés and Mercè Hervada
Música de Cambra

Mireia Farrés and Mercè Hervada

16 December 2020
Hall 2 Oriol Martorell
Ballets by Robert Gerhard
Música de Cambra

Ballets by Robert Gerhard

22 February 2021
Sala 4 Alicia de Larrocha