American Music

  • 7 April 2017
  • 5€
  • Hall 2 Oriol Martorell
  • Sampler Series


18.30h: Inicio instalación sonora en la misma Sala 2

JOHN LUTHER ADAMS: The place we began (2008)


ESMUC Ensemble
Lorenzo Ferrándiz, conductor


JOHN LUTHER ADAMS: The place we began (2008)- Instal·lació sonora
STEVE REICH: Eight Lines (1983)
JOHN CAGE: Imaginary Landscape # 1 (1939)
PHILIP GLASS: Music in similar Motion (1969)
JOHN LUTHER ADAMS: Red Arc / Blue Veil (2002)
DAVID LANG: Increase (2002)


ESMUC (Catalonia College of Music) and Sampler Sèries present a concert of American music performed by the ESMUC contemporary music ensemble, conducted by Lorenzo Ferrándiz. From John Cage with his Imaginary Landscape, no. 1, written in 1939 for a visionary formation - two turntables with variable speeds, frequency recordings, prepared piano and a percussionist -, to the evocative landscapes of John Luther Adams and the postminimalism of David Lang, taking in two eminent works of repetitive music: the first part of Music in similar Motion, by Philip Glass, and the octet Eight Lines, by Steve Reich.


  • Festival Mixtur

You may also like