COVID-19. Security measures at L’Auditori de Barcelona. MORE INFO

Barcelona Symphonic Band Music director

José R. Pascual-Vilaplana
Born in Muro (Alicante), José R. Pascual-Vilaplana studied the euphonium and the piano at the Unió Musical in Muro and at the Alcoy and Valencia conservatories before going on to train as a conductor under J. Cober, E. Corporon, K. Österreicher, Y. Yuasa and H. Graf.

He has conducted bands such as the Banda Nacional de Cuba, the Marine Band of the Royal Dutch Navy, the Colombian, Dutch and Bavarian youth bands, the Buenos Aires and Montevideo municipal bands, the Slovenian Armed Forces Band, the Aulos Wind Band of Switzerland, the MUSIKENE Symphony Orchestra and the CONSMUPA Band and Symphony Orchestra, as well as several Spanish municipal bands. He has also conducted the Matanzas Symphony Orchestra of Cuba, the Accademia La Fenice orchestra (Venice), the Castilla y León, Murcia, Castellón and Vallès symphony orchestras, the Gran Canaria Philharmonic Orchestra, the UCAM Symphony Orchestra (Murcia), the Manuel de Falla Chamber Orchestra and the Tarragona Camera Musicae Orchestra among others.

He was the principal conductor of the Albacete Symphony Orchestra from 2001 to 2014 and he has been the artistic director of the Bilbao Municipal Band since 2015. He is the conductor of the Philharmonic Wind Orchestra and principal guest conductor of the Portuguese Symphonic Band (Porto).

He has been the music director of the Barcelona Symphonic Band since 2018.

Winner of the WMC Kerkrade 1997 (Netherlands) and the Birmingham EBBA 2000 (England) conducting awards, he currently teaches band conducting at Joventuts Musicals Vall d’Albaida. He is also a guest teacher at the ISEB in Trento and the artistic director of the programme of advanced courses run by the Istituto Musicale Guido Alberto Fano in Spilimbergo (Italy). As a composer, he has been commissioned with numerous works for contests, festivals and acclaimed soloists.

Barcelona Symphonic Band Assistant conductor

Carlos Ramon
Carlos Ramón was born in Crevillent (Alicante) in 1989. He holds a higher diploma in the trumpet from the Massotti Higher Conservatory in Murcia and a degree in conducting from Zuyd University – Conservatorium Maastricht (Netherlands), where he also completed a Master’s in conducting in 2016. He was taught by such distinguished conductors as José Rafael Pascual Vilaplana, Manuel Mondéjar Criado and Jan Cober. He has attended seminars led by Alex Schillings, Felix Hauswirth, Eugene Corporon, Carlo Pirola, Johan de Meij, Rafael Sanz-Espert, László Marosi, Yves Segers and Douglas Bostock.

He has appeared as guest conductor with the Luxembourg “Grand Ducale” Military Band, the European Union Youth Wind Orchestra, the Barcelona Symphonic Band and the Banda Municipal d’Alacant.

In 2017 he won the 7th European Conductors Competition organised by the European Brass Band Association in Oostende (Belgium), and was also awarded the Audience Prize. In July 2017 he won the Golden Baton at the world’s most important event for conductors, the International Conductors Competition, part of the World Music Contest in Kerkrade.

He has been resident conductor of the Agrupación Musical do Rosal (Pontevedra) and AMCE Santa Cecilia (Elda), and artistic director of the Jove Banda Simfònica of the Valencian Federació de Societats Musicals. Currently he is conductor of the Unión Musical Torrevejense and assistant conductor of the Barcelona Symphonic Band.

Barcelona Symphonic Band Principal Guest Conductor

As a composer, he has written more than 150 works, mostly orchestral and chamber, and has won several awards, including the Premio Orquesta Nacional de España (1977), the Premio Jove d'Or (1980), the Premi Ciutat de Barcelona (1983 and 1986), the Southeastern Composers League Award (1986), The Madison University Flute Choir Composition Award (1987) and the Queen Sofia Composition Award (1991). A good number of his works have been published and also recorded on various CDs, both in Europe and in the United States.

In Spain he has been the principal conductor of the Balearic Symphony Orchestra "Ciutat de Palma" (1997-2001 and 2009-2013), the Orquesta Simfònica del Vallès (1997-2002) and the Barcelona Symphonic Band (2007-2018 ). Since 1991 he is the conductor of the Vancouver Symphony (United States) and also he is the principal guest conductor of the Barcelona Symphonic Band. As a guest he has conducted several orchestras in Israel, Germany, China, Belgium, Korea, France, Italy, Mexico, the United States and Spain. In addition, he combines an intense agenda as a conductor with the composition of a large number of commissions of works of all kinds. He teaches orchestral conducting and composition at Escola Superior de Música de Catalunya (ESMuC).

This 2020 has been honored with the Clark County Arts Commission Lifetime Achievement Award for its years in the service of the SW Washington arts community.
Go to beginning