COVID-19. Security measures at L’Auditori de Barcelona. MORE INFO


Frames, CrossingLines & Cosmos Quartet


    1st concert
    José Mora: Restos de Puente (2022) - World premiere. Commissioned by Barcelona Creació Sonora (approx. 35')
    José María Sánchez-Verdú: Machaut-Architekturen (2003-2005) – Selection (approx. 15')

    2nd concert
    FRAMES Percussion and COSMOS QUARTET
    Rebecca Saunders: Dust III for six percussionists (2018-2021) - Selection (approx. 25')
    Montserrat Lladó: Ariel (2022) - World premiere. Commissioned by Barcelona Creació Sonora (approx. 25')


    FRAMES Percussion
    Ferran Carceller, Sabela Castro, Ramon Gardella, Dani Munarriz, Rubén Orio and Miquel Vich, percussion
    Itziar Viloria, live electronics

    Cosmos Quartet
    Helena Satué and Bernat Prat, violin
    Lara Fernández, viola
    Oriol Prat, cello

    Crossing Lines
    Patricia de No, flute
    Antón Seijas, clarinet
    Tere Gómez, sax
    Noé Rodrigo, percussion
    Lluïsa Espigolé, piano
    Bernat Prat, violin
    Oriol Prat, cello
    Francesc Prat, director
    Pablo Carrascosa Llopis, synthesizers and artistic direction


Dust is a good illustration of Rebecca Saunder’s work for two reasons: first, due to her interest in the writings of Samuel Beckett, viewed from a compositional standpoint (the piece is based on two quotes, one from The Unnamable and the other from That time by Beckett); and second, due to her minute analysis of sounds. Dust is a “film” that is deposited on objects, and it is from this perspective–from this “wordless thing in any empty space”–that she urges us to listen. José María Sánchez-Verdú is a composer with a fascination for cultural, spatial, artistic and temporal mixes. In Machaut-Architektur (Machaut-Architecture), he takes Guillaume de Machaut’s Messe de Nostre Dame (Mass of Our Lady) as his starting point, using some of its features in more contemporary style; for instance, “columns of sound” generated by the instruments (as opposed to the former custom of vocal columns) or rhythmic repetitions (talea) used as structural aids. Both pieces will enter into dialogue with the two premiered works: Montserrat Lladó’s music, characterised by deep–often gloomy–layers of textural sound, and José Mora’s concise work, reflecting his own personal imaginative approach to composition.

    • Thursday 15 December 19:00
  • €10
  • Hall 2 Oriol Martorell
  • Sampler Series

A minute analysis of sound.

Sessions and tickets


15 December 2022

Buy tickets

Included in:

    Included in subscriptions

      You may also like

      After Maryanne Amacher
      Sampler Series

      After Maryanne Amacher

      Thomas Ankersmit

      18 January 2023
      Sala 3 Tete Montoliu
      Sofia Gubaidulina
      Sampler Series

      Sofia Gubaidulina

      Ricardo Descalzo & Barcelona Modern Ensemble

      19 February 2023
      Hall 2 Oriol Martorell
      Le retour de l'écoute
      Sampler Series

      Le retour de l'écoute

      Michel Doneda & Lê Quan Ninh & Núria Andorrà & Tom Chant

      15 March 2023
      Sala 4 Alicia de Larrocha
      Go to beginning