COVID-19. Security measures at L’Auditori de Barcelona. MORE INFO

Death and Legend

Jose Franch-Ballester & Pascual-Vilaplana


    Oscar Navarro: Leyendas (Legends) for clarinet and symphony band (2019) 35’
    Bert Appermont: New work (10’) – World premiere, commissioned by Barcelona Symphony Band
    Bert Appermont: A Brussels Requiem (2017) 19’


    Barcelona Symphonic Band
    Jose Franch-Ballester, clarinet
    José R. Pascual-Vilaplana, conductor


Art often attempts to explain what is incomprehensible or inscrutable. Belgian composer Bert Appermont composed A Brussels Requiem just after the terrorist attack the city suffered in March 2016. The four movements depict in music the range of emotions that affect us after a disaster of this magnitude: from anguish and rage to the deepest grief. In the second part of the concert, José R. Pascual-Vilaplana conducts the world premiere of a work by Appermont, a piece commissioned in connection with this season’s portrait of an artist tribute by the Band. 

Leyendas, by Oscar Navarro, a composer from Alicante with an international reputation, is much more than a spectacular concerto for clarinet. It invites the audience to immerse themselves in an experience involving theatre, music and video-art. Dedicated to clarinettist Jose Franch-Ballester, it presents three narratives that are full of mystery, through which the audience discover a monastery that has been burnt down, an enigmatic circus and a princess who is under a spell. 

    • Sunday 14 May 18:00
  • From €12 to €16
  • Hall 1 Pau Casals
  • BMB Season

Sessions and tickets


14 May 2023
€16 / €12 reduced price

Buy tickets

Included in:

    Included in subscriptions

      You may also like

      Western Classics
      La Banda ens Apropa

      Western Classics

      La Banda ens Apropa

      1 June 2023
      Hall 2 Oriol Martorell
      The sound machine
      Museu de la Música

      The sound machine

      Participative musical story

      11 December 2022
      Museu de la Música
      Haydn: The Seven Last Words
      Chamber Music

      Haydn: The Seven Last Words

      Ensemble O Vos Omnes & Quartet Gerhard

      13 December 2022
      Stage Hall 1 Pau Casals
      Go to beginning