COVID-19. Security measures at L’Auditori de Barcelona. MORE INFO

Prokofiev Violin Sonata

Lana Trotovšek & Maria Canyigueral

Foto Lana Trotovsek i Maria Canyigueral


    Sofia Gubaidulina: Chaconne for solo piano (1962) 10'
    Jordi Cervelló: Profili umani (Human profile) for violin. Selection (2014) 9'
    Jordi Cervelló: Fid'l for violin and piano (1996) 9'
    Sergei Prokofiev: Sonata No. 2 in D major, Op. 94a (1942-43) 24'


    Lana Trotovšek, violin
    Maria Canyigueral, piano


Sergei Prokofiev composed the Sonata No. 2 in D major, Op. 94 for flute and piano, but a year later he transcribed it for violin and piano at the request of his violinist friend David Oistrakh. It is structured in four movements: the first in the form of a sonata, the second a scherzo, the third an andante that presents a violin melody with jazz touches, and a final movement that begins with a festive air but gradually darkens.

In Chaconne, Sofia Gubaidulina creates seven variations from an initial harmonic progression, typical of the baroque folk dance -the chaconne. It recovers the main theme in the final coda. One of Gubaidulina’s early compositions, Chaconne focuses mainly on the piano. In Fid’l, Jordi Cervelló also explores the technique of variation: in this case, he proposes six variations on a popular Jewish theme. Conversely, Profili uman is a collection of nine capricci - later included in the collection of 24 capricci for violin - in which Cervelló portrays various typical human characters, such as the shy, the enamoured, the ironic and the mocked.

    • Monday 8 May 19:00
  • €20
  • Sala 4 Alicia de Larrocha
  • Chamber Music

Trotovšek and Canyigueral perform one of Prokofiev's great violin sonatas.

Sessions and tickets


8 May 2023

Buy tickets

You may also like

Messiaen: The End of Time
Chamber Music

Messiaen: The End of Time

Andreas Ottensamer & Sitkovetsky Trio

28 May 2023
Hall 2 Oriol Martorell
The sound machine
Museu de la Música

The sound machine

Participative musical story

11 December 2022
Museu de la Música
Haydn: The Seven Last Words
Chamber Music

Haydn: The Seven Last Words

Ensemble O Vos Omnes & Quartet Gerhard

13 December 2022
Stage Hall 1 Pau Casals
Go to beginning