The OBC (Barcelona Symphony Orchestra - the National Orchestra of Catalonia) was founded in 1944 by Maestro Eduard Toldrà. Rafael Ferrer took over from the latter in 1962 until 1967. Music Directors of the orchestra have also included Maestros Antoni Ros Marbà (1967-1978, 1981-1986), Salvador Mas (1978-1981), Franz-Paul Decker (1986-1991), García Navarro (1991-1993), Lawrence Foster (1996-2002), Ernest Martinez Izquierdo (2002-2006) and Eiji Oue (2006-2010)and Pablo Gonzélez (2010-2015). Jan Willem de Vriend is his current Principal Guest Conductor. Kazushi Ono is his Music Director from September 2015.

Throughout its over 70 years of history, the OBC has recorded several albums with Decca, EMI, Auvidis, Koch, Claves, Naxos, Telarc and BIS labels, among others, featuring works by Montsalvatge, Gerhard, Falla, D’Albert, Albéniz, Donhány, Bartók, Bizet, Rodrigo, featuring several top international artists. In September 2000, the OBC won the Latin Grammy Award to the Best Classical Album for La Dolores, in 2004 for Carmen Symphony and in 2006 for the CD with Michel Camilo Rhapsody in blue. Other recordings have been El Concierto de Aranjuez, with the renowned Chinese guitarist Xuefei Yang, for EMI, and a monographic CD with orchestral works by Albéniz for Tritó. The OBC has established a stable collaboration with Naxos, recent releases include recording of Meyerbeer, Montsalvatge, Massenet and Granados.

Touring is an important part of the activities of the Orchestra. The OBC has visited some of the world’s major concert halls, such as New York’s Carnegie Hall, as well as international festivals such as the Proms at London’s Royal Albert Hall. In February 2013, the OBC went on tour to Austria, Slovenia and Croatia.

The OBC has also enjoyed collaborations with some of the most renowned conductors and soloists worldwide, including names such as Inbal, Ono, J. López Cobos, Barenboim, Hogwood, Koopman, Plasson, Krivine, Slatkin, Kitajenko, Belohlaveck, Antonini, Kreizberg, Denève, Pons, Minkowski, Lupu, Zimmermann, Volodos, Montserrat Caballé, Alicia de Larrocha, Maisky, Zukerman, Argerich, Bell, Hahn, Camilo, Kremer, Mörk, Chang, Mullova, Urmana, Angelich, Fellner, Repin, Ott, Steinbacher, Znaider, Gutman, Weilerstein, Cotillard, and many others.

As part of a regular collaboration with the Gran teatre del Liceu, the OBC has recently participated in The Gambler, Daphne, Magic Flute, Rienz and Il Tabarro.

The OBC is committed to the promotion of classical and contemporary music of all cultures, giving special attention to Catalan composers.

The OBC is part of the Consorci de l’Auditori i l’Orquestra, formed by the Catalan Government and the City of Barcelona. Since April 1999, the OBC performs in its own venue, the L'Auditori of Barcelona, designed by Spanish architect Rafael Moneo.

The OBC is a member of:

AFO. Association Française des Orchestres

Through its membership of the AFO, the OBC gains an essential European dimension for its growth and consolidation as an orchestra of reference.

AEOS. Asociación Española de Orquestas Sinfónicas

The AEOS is the forum that groups the State professional orchestras.

L’Auditori is a member of:


This is the association, which brings together the main auditoria of Europe. L’Auditori has been a member of this association since 2007, and was the first Spanish public auditorium to join it.